Events

ABOUT OUTLYING ISLANDS

Award-winning Sugarglass Theatre returns to Dublin and the Samuel Beckett Theatre with its New York City-premiere production of David Greig’s critically lauded play, Outlying Islands.

 

* * *

Dates: 12 Aug – 2 Sep (no shows on Sundays)

Previews: 10-11 Aug, 7.30pm

Time: 7.30pm, Duration: 2 h 

Matinée: 19 Aug, 26 Aug, 2 Sep, 2.30pm

Tickets: €12 (P)/€20 (F)/ €17 (C)

Book Online: https://beckett-theatre.ticketsolve.com/ 

* * *

Summer, 1939. With the world on the brink of war, two young naturalists leave Cambridge and venture to a remote Scottish island to conduct a study for the Ministry of Defence. Arriving on the island with its sole inhabitants, the elderly owner and his 19-year-old niece, the scientists soon discover they have been duped and things are not what they seem. Very soon they are drawn into a primaeval world of emotional discovery, sexual passion and murder in a race against time to save the island.

Based on true events, David Greig’s poetic, intense and gripping Outlying Islands is a tale of breath-taking beauty and poignancy packed with moments of pure comedy and mystery.

“Comic, touching, powerfully erotic” ???? The Telegraph

“A beautiful play, richly laden with moving symbolism” - British Theatre Guide

**** - The Guardian

AGE Guidance: 16+ (contains nudity and scenes of a sexual nature)

Praise for Sugarglass Theatre

**** "“Dizzyingly ambitious... Wonderfully inventive and richly immersive... Heavenly... A theatrical company to watch" - The Irish Times

**** “Palpable Magic"- Exeunt Magazine

  • ADMISSION

  • €12.00 Preview | €17.00 | €20.00

  • DATES

  • Thu, Aug 10 | 19:30
    Fri, Aug 11 | 19:30
    Sat, Aug 12 | 19:30
    Mon, Aug 14 | 19:30
    Tue, Aug 15 | 19:30
    Wed, Aug 16 | 19:30
    Thu, Aug 17 | 19:30
    Fri, Aug 18 | 19:30
    Sat, Aug 19 | 19:30
    Sat, Aug 19 | 14:30
    Mon, Aug 21 | 19:30
    Tue, Aug 22 | 19:30
    Wed, Aug 23 | 19:30
    Thu, Aug 24 | 19:30
    Fri, Aug 25 | 19:30
    Sat, Aug 26 | 19:30
    Sat, Aug 26 | 14:30
    Mon, Aug 28 | 19:30
    Tue, Aug 29 | 19:30
    Wed, Aug 30 | 19:30

Samuel Beckett Theatre
Trinity College
Dublin 2
Co. Dublin
T + 353 (0)1 896 1334
E fthackab@tcd.ie
W www.tcd.ie/beckett-theatre/
Box Office + 353 (0)1 896 2461