Events

ABOUT THE RIVALS

Smock Alley presents as its eighth in-house production, Richard Brinsley Sheridan’s much loved Comedy of Manners, The Rivals. The wealthy Lydia Languish, brought up on romance novels, is searching for a suitor and only a poor man will do, so it is no wonder she falls for the penniless Beverley. However her formidable aunt Mrs. Malaprop, through a series of hilarious blunders, raises serious objections to Lydia’s choice.

Smock Alley presents as its eighth in-house production, Richard Brinsley Sheridan’s much loved Comedy of Manners, The Rivals.

“How charming will poverty be with him!” Lydia Languish

The wealthy Lydia Languish, brought up on romance novels, is searching for a suitor and only a poor man will do, so it is no wonder she falls for the penniless Beverley. However her formidable aunt Mrs. Malaprop, through a series of hilarious blunders, raises serious objections to Lydia’s choice.

The whirlwind plot and wondrous wit of Sheridan’s play has delighted audiences for over 240 years. This historical play was first performed at The Theatre Royal at Smock Alley in the late 1700’s.

31 July – 2 Sep 2017 | 2:30pm + 7:30pm | Main Space

NO SHOWS ON MONDAYS

Directed by: Liam Halligan

Historical tours of Smock Alley Theatre one hour before every show included in ticket price!
Discounts available for groups of 8+. Call us on 01-6770014 for more information.

On selected evenings you can enjoy a specially designed seasonal pre-show dinner with a glass of wine in our Banquet Hall AND see The Rivals for only €30!

Sitting @ 6pm  | Tickets: €30

Dinner + Show available on the following dates:

Wed 2 | Thur 3 | Fri 4
Wed 9 | Thur 10 | Fri 11 | Sat 12
Wed 16 | Thur 17 | Fri 18 | Sat 19
Wed 23 | Thur 24 | Fri 25 |
Wed 30 | Thur 31 | Fri 1 | Sat 2

Have the perfect afternoon out with a scrumptious wholesome brunch in our Banquet Hall followed by a matinee performance of Pygmalion, all for only €25!

Brunch @ 1pm | Tickets: €25

Brunch + Show available on the following dates:

Sun 6 | Sun 13 | Sun 20 | Sun 27


  • ADMISSION

  • €15.00 | €18.00

  • DATES

  • Tue, Aug 01 | 19:30
    Wed, Aug 02 | 19:30
    Thu, Aug 03 | 19:30
    Fri, Aug 04 | 19:30
    Sat, Aug 05 | 19:30
    Sun, Aug 06 | 19:30
    Mon, Aug 07 | 19:30
    Tue, Aug 08 | 19:30
    Wed, Aug 09 | 19:30
    Thu, Aug 10 | 19:30
    Fri, Aug 11 | 19:30
    Sat, Aug 12 | 19:30
    Sun, Aug 13 | 19:30
    Mon, Aug 14 | 19:30
    Tue, Aug 15 | 19:30
    Wed, Aug 16 | 19:30
    Thu, Aug 17 | 19:30
    Fri, Aug 18 | 19:30
    Sat, Aug 19 | 19:30
    Sun, Aug 20 | 19:30

Smock Alley Theatre
6/7 Exchange Street Lower
Temple Bar
Dublin 8
Co. Dublin
T + 353 (0)1 677 0014
E info@smockalley.com
W www.smockalley.com

Related Events